Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

In this memo, the arguer states that their news program should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level because they are losing attentions from viewers and contracts with advertising revenues. There are three evidence need to evaluate the argument since these evidence can weaken the argument.

First and foremost, the arguer points out the fact that "over the past year", their late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less to weather and local news. What the arguer mean is that this devoted increase and devoted is outdated. However, let us give it a second thought, each year, the program can be very different and constantly updating. For instance, the morning news program may provide more information on weather and local news where people can get these information in the morning rather than at night. Therefore, this devoted increase and decrease cannot be applied to this year or the upcoming years. Changing the time devoted should base on this year's program.

Secondly, this program received many complaints from viewers about the coverage of weather and local news. In this sense, the arguer tries to highlight that the viewers are not satified with the weather broadcast and local news in this program. Nonetheless, none of the complaints mentioned that they wish the program restore the time for weather and local news to its former level. If viewers are not happy with the former level either, then restore the time can only lose more viewers' attention. In this case, the arguer should establish a survey and distrubute it to the viewers and listen to their opinions. Only through this way and adjust the time accordingly, they can re-gain the viewer's attention.

Last but not least, the arguer lies a major flaw that many local business cancelled their advertising contract with them. It is important to note that there are so many other reasons that can cause the cancellation of the advertising contract. It is unfair to say that the time devoted for weather and local news is the only factor. For example, there might be some finincal problems going on within their own business that they have to cancel the contract.

Overall, the arguer should reevaluate his evidence to this argument. The arguer needs to make changes base on the most updated information, listen to the viewers' opinion specifically, and consider the reason behind the cancelation of advertising contract carefully before restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. Only by doing these, the arguer's evidence can strengthen the argument.