Instead of requiring students to take courses in a variety of discipline--that is, courses ranging from the arts and the humanities to the physical and biological sciences--colleges and universities should allow students to enroll only in those courses that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields. Such concentration is necessary in today’s increasingly work--oriented society.

It is not common that college students put so much attention on building their career. Many resources on campus such as career fairs and resume workshops that helps students to find a job after college. Undergraduate students are trained to be a machine that focus on getting a job. Such a social trend, that a great amount of people are often willing to believe that attending certain courses on campus will help college students prepare for jobs. Perhaps there is an element of truth in their argument, but I, without hesitation, advocate that colleges and universities should require students to take courses in a variety of disciplines while taking courses in their chosen fields.

Admittedly, having college students enroll only in those courses that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields is reasonable in certain extent. First, students are able to learn more knowledge in their chosen field. Studying courese only in their chosen fields can help them to become professionals in it. Furthermore, without studying required courese, students will spend less time on studying which lead to an easier and faster track on getting a job. However, this so-called conclusion has hardened into dogma, for a brief reflection on the

world reveals a thoroughly different picture.

First and foremost, studying required courses can open up students’ horizons. Learning new things outside of their chosen fields of study is a great way to get to know various basic knowledge in many other fields. In this way, students can get inspired and receive a positive impact on their creativity. For example, students who are majoring in science majors are require to take an art class. Focusing on drawing and painting in art classes provide them a break for their brain from all the calculation works. Drawing and painting can also increase their creativity so that they can think outside of the box. They can take what they have learned in art classes to their lab experiments. Thus, studying required courses can inspired students in their own chosen fields.

Moreover, every subject is interconnected. Students are able to learn different skills that eventually will benefit them in their own chosen fields. For instance, it is great for students who are majoring in the field of business study English. In English classes, students get to read and analyze literature. In this way, they get to train their analyzing skills and critical thinking skills. These are important skills for them and are applicable to their chosen fields. Therefore, general required classes are great for students to learn multiple skills and tricks which they can apply these skills in their own fields.

Hence, it is beyond doubt that taking general required courses have a positive contribution to students’ own chosen fields. Based on the discussion above, it is clear to state that students students to take courses in a variety of disciplines while taking courses in their chosen fields. Required courses and courses from their chosen fields can complement each other very well and eventually will lead to students’ career success.