Seven years ago, homeowners in nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community's yards should be landscaped and what colors the exteriors of homes should be painted. Since then, average property values have tripled in Brookville. In order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres, we should adopt our own set of restrictions on landscaping and housepainting.

In this letter, the arguer recommends that homeowners in Deerhaven Acres (DA) should follow certain rules when it comes to landscaping and house painting to increase their property values. To support this recommendation, that arguer points out that homeowners in Brookville community property values increased tremendously by following a set of restrictions on landscaping and house painting seven years ago. This argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

To start with, the arguer points out that homeowners in Brookville community property values have tripled after landscaped their yards and painted their exteriors in a certain way. Hence, he straightly declares that following a set of restrictions in landscaping and house painting are the only ways to raise their property values. However, let us give it a second thought: if the arguer views the set of restrictions as the only reason and/or the immediate cause to increase property values in Brookville, then he should give other evidence to support that other factors will not increase property values. Actually, there are many other factors can cause the increase of property values. For instance, newly opened businesses nearby Brookville community such as schools, banks, and other institutions may increase the property values. A further investigation on what are the factors that can increase property values is needed before the arguer can sweep out the doubt whether landscaping and house painting in a certain way can raise property values.

Further, the arguer points out that by adopting a set of restriction on landscaping and house painting increased property values in Brookville community seven years ago. Nevertheless, here lies a flaw in the arguer’s assumption: this statement highlights the fact that it was seven years ago. Basically, it is highly possible that landscaping and house painting cannot increase property values in Brookville in the present days. If the arguer can present studies or research that shows landscaping and house painting raised the property values in recent years, then we can have a more precise picture of the feasibility of this recommendation of this conclusion.

Even assuming that landscaping and house painting are the only ways to raise Brookville community property values and studies have shown that landscaping and house painting raised the property values in recent years, the arguer fails to consider the difference in place. Essentially, in his assumption exists a noticeable flaw: Brookville and DA are two completely different communities and are located differently. To be specific, it is invalid to transfer what worked for Brookville to DA without taking a regional approach because they are different communities and they are not comparable. Therefore, without ruling out such possibility, the arguer cannot simply assume that landscaping and house painting with certain restrictions can increase property values in DA.

In sum, to persuade us that following certain rules in landscaping and house painting will increase property values in DA, the arguer must supply clear evidence that following a set of restrictions in landscaping and house painting are the only ways to raise their property values as well as presenting a studies or research that shows landscaping and house painting raised the property values in recent years. In addition, to better assess the recommendation, we would need to know why Brookville and DA are comparable even though they are two completely different communities. If the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been, so at least it seems to me, more thorough and logically acceptable.