We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

When it comes to an issue, different people may have different opinions since everyone view things from different angles. It is very common that we can learn much more from people whose views we share since we share some common beliefs and knowledge. Although many people believe that we can learn from people whose views we share, I strongly believe that there are so much to learn from people whose views contradict our own.

Admittedly, there are things that we can learn from people whose views we share in certain extends. First of all, since people who share views with us, it is very easy for us to accept them without any problem. We are simply more willing to learn from them at the very beginning and communication will be easy with them. Secondly, learning from people whose views we share is more comfortable than whose views contradict. We tend to be more willing to listen to the details from their views and learn from it. Nonetheless, this so-called conclusion has major flaws and I am not able to agree with this statement due to the reasons below.

First and foremost, it is very attracting when we listen to views that comes from a completely different approch. Learning from people whose views contradict our own can refresh our minds with new ideas. We are forced to get outside of our comfort zone and get into a whole new idea. By learning a new view, we are able to learn different ways of thinking and get to know different people’s viewpoint. In this way, it helps us to get inspired. For example, when doing a debate, it is important to learn the ideas given from people who hold different opinions. Once we learned their arguments and understood the way they approch to this issue, we can enhance our argument in order to against them.

Moreover, by learning from people whose views contradict our own, we get to have a more comprehensive understanding for an issue and gain skills. Even though we both discuss the same issue, we are able to learn views from a completely different perspecitve which helps us to look at the issue from different angles. By learning from other views, we are trained to think one issue from both sides. At the same time, listen to someone who holds opposite views, we can build our active listening skills. These skills that we gained from learning opposite views will benefit us from future thinkings.

“Views” is a highly subjective word which means there is no absolutely right views or wrong views. All views should be apprciated. Hence, without any doubt, learning from people who hold different views can inspire us and train us to think comprehensively. Therefore, I believe that we can learn much more from people whose views contradict our own than people whose views we share.