Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level

In the argument, the arguer concludes that the complaints that they received recently and those canceled advertising contracts are attributed to less time to weather and local news. It seems reasonable at first glance, but it in fact is doubtful and farfetched.

To begin with, the arguer claims that less time devoting into weather and local news coverage leads to the increased complaints about weather and local news coverage. He or she assumes that those complaints that the company received are all about the coverage is not long enough. However, several questions need to be answered to determine if this assumption is indeed warranted. It is possible that the customers complainted about the quality of weather and local news. It is also possible that some audiences even think the company could cut more time of coverage of weather and local news, they prefer more national news. Thus, the arguer needs to provide more detailed information about what the customers were complaining about to persude us to believe his suggestions.

Furthermore, the arguer implies that the reason local businesses canceled their contracts with this company is because the shorted time in local news and weather coverage. However, the business manager fails to offer further evidence to confirm this assumption. What if the reason why those business companies stop corperating with this television station because of their own business issues, like they do not have enough time to spend in their advertising? What if the reason they do not want to do business with this television station because of they do not like what the station covers in the local news coverage? To bolster the argument, the manager supposes to rule out these alternative explanations.

Last, the business manager suggests the company to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. Underlying this suggestion is an unwarranted assumption that more viewers and business companies would come to this company if they restore the time for weather and local news. Neverthless, it is possible these are more viewers who like national news more than local news. So, this would not help unless the company does some research about the intersts of audience before they make this decision. Moreover, maybe the company could longer their time for local news and weather, but is it necessary to restore it to former level?