Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

In my point of view, it is legit that educational institutions require their students to finish a certain amount of credit to graduate. But, what kind of courses that students should take are their own choices.

Most of the schools require their students to take some classes outside of their majors. It is not hard to understand why they make this policy. For one hand, it is helpful for those students who do not have their clear plan for their future careers. These students might need to take several different fields of classes to figure out their interests. there are some advantages that students could take for outside major classes. First, it could help them to explore new fields. Maybe they think that they want to become actors in the future, but after they take a math class, they might find out that math is really interesting and even more thrilling than being actors. So expanding their fields of study could offer them more chances. Second, taking other classes could higher students' GPA. It is much common to see a student has a higher cumulative GPA and a lower major GPA. Because a student learns deeper and harder knowledge in his/her majors.

For the other hand, those students who already make decisions about what they want to do in the future, it is better for them to devote all of their time into what they want to learn, not stop by those classes they do not have interests. If these students who make their decisions already and do not need to take outside major classes, it is more likely they would become experts in that field. Because these students could save their time from outside major classes and take some higher level classes, for example, graduate level classes, instead. Much time they save from taking graduate school classes in the undergraduate program. In addition, taking outside major classes would give students chances to meet new people. Networking is one of most important part in school life. Only knowing people in his/ her own field would not impede one becoming succeed but know some other people in different fields would make a person more competitive.

Although spending whole time into one field would help students become more successful, the benefits of exploring different fields are also plentiful. So schools could let their students choose which path they want to go.