Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Some people think that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

However, the aim of an educational institution is to help students to achieve their goals. Although it is common that educational institutions would guide their students to figure out what they want, discouraging them from the fields of study which they are unlikely to succeed are not logical.

First of all, educational institutions do not have right to influence or change the mind of their students. Their students have freedom to choose what they want to learn and what they want to choose to be their future careers. Educational institutions could improve their courses to give their students more detailed information before they choose one field but not just dissuade them by their judgments.

Secondly, how could educational institution correctly judge one student would be successful in this field or not. They can not base on some common sense or stereotype. They might think a person with only one leg can not be successful in running, but so many people in special Olympic Games disapprove it. They might think that girls can not be really successful in Math based on the stereotype that boys have more talent in math, but Hypatia is one of the most famous women mathematicians. So there is no formula or theory to let educational institutions to know who would be successful in one field or not.

Moreover, if educational institutions dissuade students from pursuing the fields of study in which they are not likely to succeed, it would also decrease the reputations of educational institutions. Because if one educational institution could cultivate a student become a successful person in the field they are not likely to succeed, it not only show the ambitions that student has, it also proves the great quality of the education in that school and also the atmosphere of freedom in that school.

Admittedly, there are also some advantages to implementing this policy. It can somehow stop their students to make wrong choices for their entire life. If you do not have talent in art, you can not compromise it by just being super diligent. Some many artists spend their whole life in a tiny dirty basement keeping drawing every day and night, but could never see their works are exhibited in a gallery.