"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Some city commissioners believe that Grandview Symphony has able to support itself because of the fact that private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. However, an unjustified assumption here is that Grandview Symphony already has a decent amount of private contributions and attendance. What if private contributions only a small part of it's revenue? What of attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series was only 10 out of 1000. Even it's private contributions tripled and attendance doubled, the outcome of how much money they gained could still be really less. In this case, the city commissioners need to provide detailed information about how much money they gained this year and how much money it needs to be self-supporting.

Moreover, the city commissioners also mention that the symphony has announced an increase in ticket prices for next year to support the suggestion that Grandview symphony is fully self-supporting right now. However, it is necessary to ask how much money they would increase in ticket prices. It is possible that they only increase one dollar for original 500 dollars ticket. It is also possible that the attendance might decrease after they make this change. It is also possible that the symphony might change it's mind to remain its price. So before making clear of these possibilities, we can not be convinced that the symphony can be fully self-supporting.

Finally, the city commissioners even recommend eliminating the symphony from next year's budget because they believe that symphony can be supported by itself without other help. They assume that these increases will remain or even higher in next year. However, several questions must be answered to determine this assumption is indeed warranted. Would private contributions and attendance still be so impressive for next year? What if some special events happen this year make this difference and these events would not happen next year? Then the symphony would not have same amount of like this year. What if even it can be self-supporting, it still needs money for developing? Therefore, it is kind of narrowly preceived for long view to just eliminate this part from next year's budget