Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The memorandum from the business manager of the television stations recommends to restrore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level in order to attract more viewers and as well retain the advertising revenues. The recommendation is based on the premises that, the late-night news program has devoted more time to national news rather than weather and local news and the complaints received are largely concerned with weather and local news coverage. Also it points out that local business advertisements are cancelling the contracts for the late-night news program. Thougg the recommendation lists out some strong premises, but careful observation and an in-depth analysis suggests that there are some gaps present in the arguments and more evidences and clarification must be required in order to strengthen the recommendation.

First of all, their is no clear evidence whether there is no popularity of the increased coverage of national news in the late-night news program. There is no data has been presented regarding the viewership of the the late-night news program. There might have been an increase of total number of viwership with a slight decrease of local viewership. If this is the case, the late night news must continue to focus on national news.

Secondly, there is no mention of the nature of the complaints regarding weather and local news. Are the complains concerned about the amount of coverage or the timings of the coverage of weather and local news. If the complains are about timing of the broadcast, and more people want it at the late night news program, then that will support the recommendation. But in case the concern is more about the amount of coverage, then it should consider to increasing the amount of coverage without affecting the late night news program and its content.

Regarding the advertisement, there has been no candid explanation whether the revokation of the advertisement agreement is directly related to the weather and local news program.There can be other probable reasons such as there might have been a decrease of average broadcating amount of ads in the television. Or the local businesses, might be running less in profit and have decided to cut down their advertisement expenses, which is completely unrelated to the weather and local news program. Also there can be good reason, that some of the rival television station are providing competitive tariff for ads for the local businesses which has caused the revokation of contracts.

So to summarize my points, I would like to stress on the point that, the recommendation seems to be too facile and need more strong premises. Also without addressing the above concerns and providing solid evidences for the same, the recommendation can not make a strong ground for itself. So instead of looking at the situation holistically, it must be carefully stduied in depth and then must come up with evidences which can make the recommendation more objective.