"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author of this proposal to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level offer an interesting argument but to move forward on the proposal requires more information. While the correlation stated are logical and probable, there may be hidden factors that prevent the television station to increase their advertising revenues.

First, the correlation between the time devoted to the parts of weather and national news, and the number of complaints is not logical. The business manager should make an evaluation of the quality of their program. it is possible that the majority of those who complain is angry because of the quality of the program. For example, there is a very important event in the region and the television channel has covered it but their coverage did not satisfy their viewer's expectations.

Secondly, if we were to learn that the television station just devoted one more minute to the national news, it would significantly weaken the conclusion. When we are talking about increase and decrease in time and value, etc we should specifically mention the number, failing that would have very adverse effects on our conclusion.

Third, the business manager should consider the programs of their competitors. If their competitors allocate a sheer scale of the budget to produce popular programs like the series, shows, etc and it has been broadcasted during the news, none of their viewers are willing to watch their news program. Consequently, the local businesses don't like to advertise in their program and substitute it by their competitors. Furthermore, the business manager should have considered the overall economy of the region because a great depression in the economy causes the cut of expenses in the advertising by business owners.

In conclusion, I believe that the proposal for restoring the time devoted to weather and local news is not logical and there are various flaws that undermine the argument.