Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Many assumptions are required to argue that ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we do not and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Firstly, we have to assume that our physiology has not changed in terms of the way our body reacts to the Paleo diet. Hominids, as similar as they are to humans, can technically be considered a different species with a high chance of different physiology. Unless this proves true, we cannot firmly conclude that this diet has the same effect as they supposedly did for hominids.

Secondly, there has to be scientific evidence in the claim or research done according to the given argument to support these claims. Scientific evidence of the effects of the Paleo diets would highly impact the reliability of these claims. Without tested evidence on the effects of the aforementioned nutrients in the Paleo diets on the current human species, these statements are merely conjectures.

Thirdly, the anecdotal evidence relies heavily on the assumption that the people who claim that they suffer from fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases due to their Paleo diets only differ from other humans based on the fact of their consumption of bone broth and absolutely no other factors whatsoever. If proven to be untrue, it shows that the effects may stem from other causes.

Fourthly, we have to assume that the reason for hominids to partake in the Paleo diet was for their complex understanding of their physiology. For example, if the reason for their consumption of bone broth was to conserve and save food that is less perishable, especially in winter seasons or famine, the argument that these hominids understand more about their physiology would prove to be false.

Fifthly, assuming that the evidence of bone broth prevents metabolic and inflammatory diseases are fact, that these less severe diseases are directly related to the chronic illnesses that can be cured by consuming the Paleo diet. If proven untrue, the claims that consuming Paleo diets do not cure any chronic illnesses.

Unless these assumptions can be proven, one way or another, to be fact, the claim that ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we do not and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses would be evident as complete conjecture and fiction.