Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Debates and discussions on controversial topics have served to the benefit of mankind, not only through political progression but also scientific innovations and our fundamental knowledge of the universe.

The claim of "few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs." is fundamentally flawed. It is due to the constant debates, arguments and at times, even bloodshed based on the opposing ideology has improved human rights and allowed many countries, especially the United States of America, to be as prosperous as they are today. For example, slavery was thought to be a common practice back when America was first founded. During the reign of President Abraham Lincoln and his work for abolishing slavery, human rights were able to see the light of day. If people's core believes can rarely be changed, we might not be able to make as much human rights progress as we have in the past few centuries.

Many scientific breakthroughs have also benefitted humanity and increased our knowledge of the universe. One such breakthrough was the discovery that the Sun did not revolve around the Earth but vice versa. The concept that the Sun revolved around the Earth used to be widely known until Galileo claimed that it was the opposite. It became a highly controversial topic that led to Galileo's house arrest for supporting such a controversial statement. However, if we did not have these debates and discussions, we may not have made the scientific progress that we have taken for granted today.

Indeed, many people do not like being questioned on their core beliefs and to admit that the beliefs that we have built our lives upon may be untrue will be very damaging to our ego. Even now in the United States, we can see the contrasting and unchanging beliefs of liberals and conservatives and some states have even solidified their positions as red states and blue states. However, this does not mean that constant debates are not useful. Maybe even what we think today as an undeniable truth can be overturned in the future, continuing our progress as a nation and as a species.

Now, global warming is considered a controversial topic and we are still having intense discussions and debates on what we can do today. These debates have already shown their result by many companies halting their provision of plastic straws, especially in the fast-food industry. McDonald's in Indonesia has stopped providing plastic straws country-wide to promote the reduction of global warming, showing that these debates have successfully changed a nation's perspective and caused a positive impact on the environment.

"Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs." definitely holds untrue as seen from our past to our present and hopefully our future.