Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

There are many characteristics a good leader should possess for the team to succeed. However, it is very rare for a leader to have all of these characteristics, and therefore some traits can be seen as more crucial than others. A leader can make the best decisions for the survival and prosperity of his team, but without the respect of his peers, a leader might as well step down from his position.

Trust is key for a leader to successfully lead his team and respect plays a major role in gaining the trust of your team. Without trust, the team will not complete or execute their leader’s decision to the fullest extent and may challenge or even rebel against the action. For example, a stockbroker who does not trust and respect the decision of his manager may not execute the buy order that was given by his manager. This will undoubtedly cause chaos in the team as team members may not have the foresight to see the big picture that the leader has seen and bases his decisions. Even though a mistake can be fixed, the dynamic of a leader-follower relationship would be damaged from the lack of respect, which is fundamental to the structure of the team.

A team that respects their leader will also be loyal to their leader. For a team to function at the most critical times, a team member should be ready to follow the directive of their leader at any cost. During the live-fire testing during the development of the military transport unit, Bradley Fighting Vehicle, the commanding officer ordered his troops to conduct the tests fairly and just even though it may cost them their positions. Fair testing saved countless lives on the battlefield. These results would not have been as successful if the team had not been loyal to their commanding officer and did not respect him.

A good leader should be able to make sound moral judgments to ensure the team can thrive no matter the conditions. Good judgments can make or break a team, and overall essential for a team to survive and the morality of a team’s actions can have a significant impact on the team’s output. However, a leader does not necessarily need to make the decisions by himself. Many CEOs and private equity investors can lead their company and assign critical decisions to the hired experts in their respective fields.

In conclusion, a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers is crucial and irreplaceable to the team and a more important characteristic than the ability to make sound moral judgments, which can be delegated to the team.