Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

For better or worse, science and technology have made an irreversible impact on our lives. From drugs that can cure diseases once thought to be a death sentence to the weapons of destruction that can result in an extinction-level event that can ultimately wipe out the human race, science and technology have been etched into our history. To solve all of society’s problems, however, may prove to be a stretch even for the miracles that science and technology can grant us.

Most, if not all of society’s problems come from one source, society itself. Even now, our scientists and engineers have created many solutions that can solve our current problems. A young engineering team designed and created an engine that runs on water and can provide as much energy as an engine that runs on oil. This invention is the root of one of the most controversial problems we have in the world, global warming. Moreover, fueling this engine will cost much less than oil or other fossil fuels as water makes up 70% of the planet. When this solution was marketed, large oil companies seized this opportunity and made an exclusive deal with the engineering team for millions of dollars, only to shelve the engine as it would cause the demise of their industry. This deal ensured that there is no way that the water engine enters the market. Science and technology can solve a lot of our problems but until we get out of our way, there is no impact that these miracles can give to solve any of our problems.

Some of society’s problems can only be solved by human judgment and choices. Societal problems such as high unemployment rates, wage gaps, and discrimination are all caused and can only be solved by human judgment and society itself. Advancements in automation which can be argued to allow the manufacturing process of most goods to become more efficient have fueled our unemployment rates. Not all of society’s problems can be solved with the advancement of science and technology, no matter how many miracles they have performed in our history.

One major cause of society’s problems is that resources are being used at a faster rate than the rate we can replenish these raw necessities. Even as we move to the digital age, we still use paper products at a highly alarming rate, higher than our rate of replanting the trees that we cut down. The innovation to create not only printing paper but also paper plates, cups and cardboard unavoidably increase our use of these resources. Our alternative of moving towards digital documents simply shifts our raw material need, from trees to the oil that creates electricity to power our devices. Until we decide to become more efficient in our energy and raw material use, science and technology are still too limited to solve all of our societal problems.

Science and technology are a powerful tool in our arsenal, but society needs to learn to use it to benefit the world instead of our greed. Even if many of society’s problems can be solved with science and technology, saying that all of society’s problems can be solved by science and technology is highly flawed.