Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the passage made several conclusions and declared many overaching statements based on unfounded assumptions. In making these generalizations that Paleo diets could cure many diseases for the present generation as it did for their ancestors, the passage has failed to identify some key points.

Firstly, the proponents stated that our bodies evolved to eat paleo diets due to the fact that they were eaten by our our ancestors and passed down through several dispensations to the current generation. However, there seems to be no viable proof to show this evolutionary trend. Perhaps, had there been some experimental analysis conducted and/or statistical demography to prove that these diets has impacted what we eat - such as bone broth - and the way we eat, then this could have provided some substance to the claim.

Also, the Skeptics' claim that there is an anectodal evidence indicating that consumption of bone broth had a positive impact on the health of people, cannot be adjudged to be outrightly convincing. For one, the source of this evidence has not been clearly stated. In addition, how this conclusion was arrived at seems to be vague if not non-existent. Even if these claims are found to be true, one still needs to consider other factors that may have influenced the healthiness of the previous generations when compared with the current generation. What is the degree of devastation of the kinds of diseases that people are exposed to in the present moment in relation to what obtained in the past? The rise of new diseases and infections in the present age, which may have been absent in the past, may have caused a resistance in the effect of Paleo diet consumers on people's health today.

Furthermore, the author's conclusion that eating the same Paleo diet now, as our ancestors used to, would ensure that chronic illnesses are cured may be hasty, when one compares how both generations lived. For instance, the author failed to state the kinds of work both generations engaged in, nor the kinds of environmental hardships they had to experience. If our ancestors did mainly less strainous jobs that required them working in safe environments, that could have explained why Paloe diets could effectively work in their bodies. Also, the genetic make up of both generations needs to be looked at. While it may be the case that our ancestors had strong genes that could easily fight diseases and bring the body back to normal upon ingestion of broths, that may not be the case with our generation.

In conclusion, while the author tried to give some reasons as to why emulating the way ancient humans ate would help cure chronic illnesses in the current generations, a lot of key assumptions need to be cleared before this conclusion can be perceived or accepted as valid.