The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the petition has raised some interesting points in stating what the city council of Centerville must do to solve the problem of sidewalk rage. However, in arriving at a conclusion, there has been some assumptions that one needs to properly analyse, or for which certain valid evidences must be provided.

For one, the author noted that there has been increase in assaults, damage and traffic disruptions for pedestrians due to the activities of sidewalk walkers. The author, in proposing a solution, also stated that there must be a ban on cell phone use on these sidewalks to mitigate these problems. However, what was not stated, at least with evidence, is that cell phone use among pedestrians is the only cause of these problems. For all we know, Centerville could be a city with endemic rascality. If such is the case, one would see that the societal ills could be as a result of the presence of rogues whom the city have been unable to unravel or apprehend. Perhaps there is a problem of adequate policing in the city of Centerville which has led to assaults and increase in crime rate among sidewalk walkers.

Further, it may be true that some of the problems among sidewalk walkers are caused by people texting or chatting on their mobile phones while walking on the sidewalks. However, the author needs to also view the problem from the design of the average sidewalk of the city of Centerville. If for instance, the sidewalk in the city are tiny lanes that can only accommodate few people at once, then the issue of people bumping into each other could arise. Also, one is not certain that the government of Centerville has provided enough public buses or cars for the citizens of Centerville. This is because more people are likely to resort to trekking on the sidewalks when they realize that the city does not possess adequate transportation means to cater to their needs, which could overburden the sidewalks.

The author made a bold statement and perhaps arrived at a hasty conclusion in saying that the city of Centerville could solve the sidewalk problems by emulating Middletown. The fact that Middletown passed a ban on the use of cellphones on sidewalk is not enough reason for Centerville to believe they will receive no complaints. What if the officers who are supposed to report incidences on sidewalks in Middletown slowed down the pace of reporting to make it seem that the ban had been successful?

In addition, the author needs to find out what other areas Middletown is doing well in attending to safety and security of their people in comparison to Centerville. Probably, Middletown is experiencing less crime on their sidewalks due to an improvement in policing of the state. Middletown could also have invested in other adequate transportation means for their citizens. Also, for a city like Middletown who could have larger sidewalks than Centerville, perhaps bicycles have been made cheaper for the average Middletown resident to use on the sidewalk to easy the flow of traffic and reduction in crime rate.

In conclusion, the petition made to the city council of Centerville would hold more ground if certain assumptions are substantiated with viable claims. The petitioner would need to provide stronger and more convincing evidence to show that Centerville would obtain a lasting solution to the societal ills currently experienced in the city's sidewalk.