Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The art of communication involves knowing the other person's mind, understanding his/her view points, and presenting yours in a manner that is most basic and easily comprehensible. While people have their own core beliefs and may not want to shift grounds on what they have been accustomed to knowing, people also buy into contrasting views based on several factors.

Firstly, it is important to note that of the four cardinal points upon which effective communication is built i.e. reading, speaking, listening and writing, one of them undergirds what makes commmunication really effective and transformational - listening. Listening attentively to a person's views will shape your understanding of what they know, the scope of their thinking and the flow of their thought processeses. Once these vital aspects of a person's views are lucidly comprehended, you can easily channel your own views by coming from their own angle. For instance, in correcting a toddler, it is often observed that a parent will dance to the tunes of the baby when trying to pass a different point across to the child. In doing this, the child observes the parent's attentiveness, and more often than not, presents himself or herself in an obedient manner to hear what the parent has to say.

In addition, there is the aspect of how a matter is being analysed for the understanding of someone who is in an argumentative mode. In presenting facts and figures, Stock Brokers, Finance Analysts and Economists will most times draw up graphs and charts. One key reason why they bring this to the fore is to prove their research or analysis beyond reasonably doubt to readers. This is because, people who have contrasting views are basing their argument on certain premises, and would only subscribe to another person's differing opinion when based on its superiority - that is, when it cannot be vehemently opposed. Thus, people submit superior or higher opinion in the face of proven facts.

Thirdly, people change their view points when they understand the opposing party's standing or profile. It is not uncommon to see that in our world today, people respect professors, doctors, researchers, clerics and reporters. Take the case of a professor who comes to public glare to make a presentation at a conference. For some, it takes only reading the profile or biography of the professor, for them to believe hook, line and sinker, his presentation - afterall, a professor is an erudite scholar who must have invested humongous time and effort into the presentation he is making. For researchers, the mere fact that we know them to be inclined to spending countless hours in the laboratory before arriving at an hypothesis, sometimes makes their views unquestionable. The same applies for clerics and religious leaders - these are people who speak into the ideologies and cultural beliefs of people, shaping their view points with guile and oration. It is often the case, that people change their core beliefs upon hearing clerics and motivational speakers preach their message.

However, it is also important to note that sometimes, while a person's core beliefs have been changed from what it used to be, it may be difficult to change such newly found beliefs. That is usually the case in point with religious fanatics, political supporters and atheists.

Finally, the fact people have contrasting view points does not mean that speaking to them about your belief with a view to changing theirs is an effort in futility. People do have paradigm shifts, when they are approached with facts, when you present your view points in clear and comprehensible formats, and when they view you as an expert in the area of discourse.