Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Science and technology can be described as Siamese twins, whose involvement and contribution in mankind's success has been immense. Science is the art of making things easier and simpler using ingenious techniques, while technology is the application of science. For the myriads of societal problems that humans have faced over the years, once can attribute the amazing solutions to the problems that we have experienced over time to science and technology.

Firstly, many centuries ago, humans could only communicate with one another through crude means. One would find an individual living in a place, over several kilometers away, walking that long distance to see a family friend, relative or loved one in another community. This commuting problem was eased by the advent of bicycles. Later on, cars, buses and airplanes were invented, which the world now depends on to meet the fast-paced lives that humans live in this dispensation. The innovations in the automobile and aviation sector have come through science and its application - technology - which have drastically reduced the problem of movement and transportation of people, goods and services across various continents.

When one also considers the health care sector, one would again appreciate the role of science and technology in the world. Before now, people received health care through traditional medicine such as through concoctions, voodoo, and so on. The art of noticing symptoms of certain diseases and ailments was at best very elementary in time past. However, with the intervention of biochemists, pharmacists, doctors and health scientists, medicine has advanced by leaps and bounds. Now, patients have access to potent drugs, sophisticated health equipment and machines, instant health services amongst others. It is refreshing to see a sick person receive adequate health care to terminal and life threatening ailments just because of the presence of science and technology in our world today.

Furthermore, people are now more educated now than ever before. Education is now accessible to all cadre of the society, as opposed to how it used to be in the past, where only the wealthy could gain access to education. In the past, people learn in classrooms using slates, and walking long distances to schools. With science and technology, children can now learn with advanced educational materials such as tablets and laptops. For the science inclined students, experiments can now be carried out in the laboratories due to the availability of improved apparatuses and instruments that have come through science and technology.

Although science and technology have been the brain behind most of the solutions to the problems we experience in the society today, one must also state some of its lapses. Communication, though now advanced, has its shortcomings. People are now more distracted than they used to be because they prefer talk over the phone or do Skype calls and chats. In transportation and travel, many accidents happen today than they did in the past, which have led to loss of life and property. In education, children sometimes, are not as attentive as they used to be. In actual fact, some students are now lazy, as they rely on technology to solve even basic problems.

In all, science and technology has contributed to the advancement of the society. It is not out of place to say that one day it would solve all of society's problems if it is properly and reasonably applied.