Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Though the above argument points out the popularity of the paleo diet along with anecdotal evidence of its benefits, it fails to present a strong case for the paleo diet as a long-forgotten cure for human ailments. The multiple faulty claims which lead up to the assertion, that emulating the paleo diet will cure many chronic illnesses, weakens it.

The argument begins with the claim that humans evolved to eat specific types of food, particularly foods such as bone broth. The implication, in distinguishing paleo from non-paleo foods, is that non-paleo foods are not ideal for humans or that humans have not similarly evolved to ingest them. This distinction further implies that human bodies stopped evolving to include different types of food after the paleo age. The fault with this claim is that it treats post-paleo humanity as if it exists only in contrast to the paleo age. It could very well be that human evolution has continuously changed bodies to adapt to different types of food over time. The paleo diet could be, if anything, out of date and no longer optimal for humans.

The argument for paleo further draws a misleading distinction between paleo and non-paleo foods. The example of bone broth is used to exemplify the paleo diet but it ignores the fact that bone broth is a very common food and ingredient in modern cuisines. Presumably, the difference is that other ingredients have been added in addition to bones but one must then accept that those other ingredients -- for example, vegetables -- carry their own health-promoting nutrients and are therefore even more advantageous for humans.

The argument also bases itself on the claim that those who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who do not. However, this claim presents itself without regarding for other factors that may influence individual health. It may be that those people who eat paleo diets have a family history that is less susceptible to metabolic and inflammatory diseases. That is to say, the ailments that bone broth is said to cure may not have developed in the paleo dieters in the first place. In order to support this argument, one should run an experiment, with a control group, to measure the effects of bone broth consumption on people who are, with a high degree of certainty, at risk of metabolic and inflammatory diseases. Without it, the claim lacks validity.

It may be that paleo dieters suffer less from diseases compared to non-paleo. It may be that humans have evolved to consume foods such as bone broth. However, without clearly reasoned distinctions and scientific experiment, the argument lacks support.