Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

The variety of personalities and perspectives in the world make it almost certain that any and all ideas will enjoy support and face opposition. Those individuals who can see past criticism and move forward with their ambitions are often the figures who become known as history's visionaries. This is due to history's valuation of deeds and accomplishments over sentiments that may be lost over time. For this reason, I agree with the assertion that those who see their ideas through tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Once such example can be found in the US purchase of Alaska in the 19th century. When the decision was announced to the public, it was met with mockery. Many Americans saw Alaska to be a frozen wasteland, devoid of worth. Compared to the immediately obvious gains that could have been exploited following the Lousiana Purchase a the start of that century, the purchase of Alaska seemed foolish, even if acres were bought from Russia pennies on the dollar. It became such a ridiculed deal that the public informally named the territory Seward's Folly, after the politician who completed the deal. However, time would prove Seward to be correct. After it was discovered in Alaska, gold was hauled back to the continguouus states in masssive amounts. In the 20th century, Alaska became essential in the American defense strategy as a forward outlook point. Besides even those hard power gains, Alaska remains a beautiful preserve of nature. It is fair to say that Alaska has paid back its investment time and time again.

Another can be found in Julius Caesar of the Roman Republic, an far more controversial topic. Caesar was a man determined to become all-powerful in his time. He lived through a tumultuous time in Roman history, surviving civil wars and political purges, to become a top general. His quest for egotistic glory then led him to push the conquest of Gaul and -- according to most historians -- commit a terrible genocide of the Gallic people in order to do so. His vision for power then led him to defy the Roman Senate, leading to civil war, the death of his former colleague Pompey Magnus, and his ascension as dictator for life. As we know, this story culminates with Casesar's assasination on the Senate floor and the fall of the Roman Republic but the fact that Caesar's name remains so common two thousand years later is a testament to the impacts of seeing one's vision though, no matter the consequences.

Though one should not take the correlation between action and legacy to be an excuse for selfish actions or immoral judgments, it nonethless provides insight regarding those whose legacies we remember today. Historical figures stadn out because they resisted the general trends of their day. They stood out because they say their visions succeed despite opposition and resistance.