Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Speaking about controversial positions on topics with those who may disagree can be difficult. At times, what we see as logical conclusions are not shared or reflected in another's perspective. As a result, disagreement can quicky turn from different interpretations of events into diametrically opposed worldviews. As a response to disagreement, people tend to distance themselvs from those who disagree. However, I must disagree with the notion that one should refrain from dialogue due to disagreement, even in cases in which the other party is unwilling to change their mind. Avoidance of awkward conversations can cause false senses of truth, can stunt one's ability to communicate with the great variety of personalities in the world, and is, overall, unproductive for society.

Fundamentally, disagreements emerge from different perspectives on life's events. One person may see certain challenges in life as goals waiting to be accomplished, while another may see them as unjust social constructions that need to be rectified. From such different perspectives, we create similarly different solutions. However, the common thread is the desire to be correct. In defending one's own position -- whether that be in politics, society, or religion -- a person is reinforcing to him/herself an internal notion of being correct. However, one must not take it too far and mistake criticism for denunciation. If one is to truly pursue correctness, one must be open to the idea of being incorrect. In this sense, discussing controversial opinions opens one up to the possibility of being incorrect and subsequently correcting oneself. In engaging in conversations with contrasting views, we avoid the tendency to fall into echo chambers, where one can easily conflate repeated opinion as unyielding truth.

Though it may be more courteous, at least in certain situations, to avoid controversial topics, avoidance has a negative effect on one's overall social standing. While it may not be the only type of conversation in the word, controversial topics are common enough that one can reasonably expect it to pop up in casual conversation. Repeated refrain from engaging in such conversations not only leads one to limit the scope of topics available for engagement, it also stunts one's communicative growth. One should learn to express one's ideas without fear of reprisal from contrasting ideas. It is a skill that eed to be cultivated and it can only be done by practice, however awkward it may intially be.

If we can assume the purpose of conversation to be the connection of ideas between individuals, we cannot allow communication to be generally limited by fears of disagreement. Conflicts and contrasting persepctives are a natural part of society. To avoid controversial conversations is to placate others at the cost of one's own the expression. If one learns to engage productively, one can learn to avoid awkwardness while preserving one's voice.