Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that we can cure chronic illnesses by emulating the way ancient humans ate. However, in order to better evaluate the validity of his conclusion, more information would be needed. Although he might be correct, because of the rife of assumptions and lack of evidence, his argument is flawed and unsubstantiated.

First, the author claims that our bodies evolved to eat kinds of food included in the paleo diet, mainly bone broth, which is rich in cartilage. However, he does not present good evidence that this is true. Are there studies confirming that eating cartilage, for example, can contribute to heal our joints? He says that the believers think that this is true, but he does not provide scientifical evidence to justify this point. Even if cartilage can really be helpful to our health, is the bone broth the only way to eat cartilage? Maybe other kinds of food that we eat everyday in the present also has good quantities of cartilage, and then we would not need to adopt the paleo diet.

Second, he states that ancient human knew something about physiology that the modern human does not know, which suggests that they used to have the paleo diet because they knew that it is helthier than others kinds of diets. However, can we say with sure that the ancient human ate cartilage because they had this knowledge? Not necessarily. Maybe they used to have such diet because it was the kind of food that was available at that time.

Third, he claims that the paleo diet can cure choronic illnesses, but he does not provide sufficient evidence to support his point. Again, to confirm this ideia we would need scientific studies proving that this is true. Also, the author assumes that by emulating the way our ancertors ate, we can cure the choronic ilnesses.

Besides that, to justify the adoption of the paleo diet, the studies should confirm that eating this kind of food is more effective to cure chronic illnesses than the methods that we already have, and also more effective than other kinds of diets.

In conclusion, because of many unwarranted assumptions, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands, and fails to make a convincing case that we can cure illnesses by imitating the way ancient humans ate.