The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The author claims that the city council of Centerville should ban cell phone use on sidewalks. However, in order to better evaluate his point, more information would be needed. Although the author's reasons could be true, because of rife of assumptions and lack of evidence, his argument is flawed and unsubistantieted.

First, the author does not provide a convincing reason to explain why the cases of sidewalk rage are related with an increase in assaults. This increase in assauts in Centerville could be caused for different reasons, and not necesarily because of the sidewalk rage. It if possible that the number of thiefs increased in the city, and it is also possible that the people started to report assalts more often to the police, which would explain the increase.

Second, the author argues that to adress the problem of sidewalk rage, the city council should ban the cell phone use on sidewalks. However, maybe the cause of sidewalk rage is not the cell phone use, but a normal increase in the number of people walking on the sidewalk. This could be a result of an increase of population, or increase in the number of tourists visiting the city. An inneficient public transportation could also affect the number of people using the sidewalk, because they walk to their jobs or houses instead of taking a bus, for example. In these cases, ban the cell phones would not solve the problem.

Finally, the author also assumes that the ban of cell phones in Centerville will be effective because it reduced the sidewalk crimes in Middletown. However, something that worked in Middletown not necessarily will work in Certerville, because the cities could be very different in terms of size, people and other caractheristics. Even if the cities are similar, he does not provide evidence to support that the reason why Middletown had a decrease in sidewalk crimes is because the ban of cell phones. Maybe Middletown implemented other measures to reduce the sidewalk crime, and then implementing the ban in Centerville would not have the same effect. To strenghten his argument, the author should provide information about how similar the cities are, and also show evidence that the decrease in crimes in Middletown were caused only by the ban of cell phone use on sidewalks.

In conclusion, because of unwanrranted assumptions, the author fails in providing a convincing case that the city council should ban the cell phone use on sidewalks.