Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises the issue of moral judgment versus respect when it comes to leadership. Although moral judgment is sometimes necessary to a leader, it can not be more important than the respect for others. Thus, I agree with the statement and would argue that the ability to maintain the respect is crucial to a great leader.

First of all, leaders of companies or governments usually deal with a very different kids of people. People are from different races, have different backgrounds and beliefs, and also have their own preferences and interests, which varies a lot. All this diversity is often very beneficial to the society and to companies, because it helps to create a more creative environment, which is very helpful in situations involving problems to be solved. If a leader keeps judging his peers, this attittude can innibe his peers to give they own opions and they the creativity will be harmed. As a consequence, new and creative solutions will not arise from the team.

Also, when a leader is very judmental, people can start being against him, and he will probably become a less effective leader because people do not want to follow him anymore. So, showing respect is a way of being seen as a great leader, a person who knows and is concerned about his peers. This makes people feel like they are important, and helps to create a good environment for cooperation, which is very important to lead companies and governments to great results.

However, in some situations a leader must use moral judment to take a position. For example, imagine a situation in which the leader's peer is doing something immoral or illegal like twrethening a collegue or desviating money from the company. In this case, it is the leader's role to properly advert his peer about the innadequate behavior or even take more drastic actions, like fire his peer.

In conclusion, I believe that althout moral judgment is necessary when it comes to avoid harmful behaviors towards the company and society, in situations involving personal positions, aspirations or beliefs, the leader should priorize the respect instead of being judgmental.