"In the past few years, Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in both enrollments and admissions applications. The reason can be discovered from our students, who most often cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as their chief sources of dissatisfaction with Fern Valley. Therefore, in order to increase the number of students attending our university, and hence to regain our position as the most prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area, it is necessary to initiate a fund-raising campaign among the alumni that will enable us to expand the range of subjects we teach and to increase the size of our library facilities."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

Though fund raising through alumni could result in increased number of enrollments it may not be because of the reasons author mentions. The author assumes that the argument will hold since the number of students enrolled is proportional the prestige of the university, since this may not be the case it the author's efforts may backfire. The argument can be divided into three primary assumptions as has been delineated below.

First, the argument presented is since the students cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as the problem, if this point is mitigated then the enrollments will increase. It could be the case if the survey conducted to find this can an apt representative of the general student body. If the students who responded were the ones who wanted improved library or had troubles with the faculty then the argument might not hold true, since in this case it could be that library resources and teaching was adequate but the survey statistics was not interpreted correctly. If evidence in favor of the survey being inaccurate representation is found to be true then it could a waste to financial resources to invest in library resources and teaching.

Furthermore, it is the opinion of the current students that teaching and library resources should be improved, there is no evidence that the wants of current students aligns with the wants of the aspirants. For example currents students might want a better library but the aspirants are probably not enrolling simply because of low placement statistics. Or even if aspirants prefer better library and teaching maybe the location of the university is too remote to be easily accessible. Thus there can be many different motivations for the aspiring students to not chose the university which do not align with those of the current students. If evidence is found to be in favor of such a case, then again the argument would be obsolete and a waste of financial resources.

Also is collecting fund from alumni might not be 'necessary' it could be one of the means to gain financial support, but there is no evidence to support that it is necessary. In case the fund collected is not sufficient then it the argument will to have even fulfill its own prerequisite let alone be able to hold on up till the end. Thereby, there can be better means, and it might not be necessary to collect fund form alumni to become prestigious.

All in all though investing in library and teaching will be value addition the students will gain form it, the argument is flawed in its assumptions.