As people grow older, an enzyme known as PEP increasingly breaks down the neuropeptide chemicals involved in learning and memory. But now, researchers have found compounds that prevent PEP from breaking neuropeptides apart. In tests, these compounds almos

The argument here states that the use of a compound that prevents breaking down of neuropeptide by PEP enzymes should be extended to students who have poor memory and difficulty in concentrating. This argument fails to maintain several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To satisfy this conclusion, the author’s reason is that it will help to restore the lost memory and improve the school performance of students. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little justification to the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument is considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that when people got older PEP enzyme increasingly breaks down the neuropeptide chemicals involved in learning and memory. This is merely and the assumption made without much solid ground. The argument does not mention the relevant source of that statement. There can be a possibility that the argument present here is only a hunch of the author rather than reliable theory. There is also a possibility that the PEP enzymes are not responsible to break down the neuropeptide chemicals. However, the argument would have been better if it explicitly stated the theoretical statement with reliable references.

Secondly, the author argues here that it is found that the use of that compound which prevents breaking down the neuropeptide by PEP, completely restored the memory of rats. This again is a weak analogy used by the argument and it does not demonstrate the clear correlation between the test of the compound on rats and its effect on the student. The argument fails to explain how the restorations of memory on rats were measured. It also fails to explain how the PEP and its effect on neuropeptide are similar in rats and humans.

Moreover, the arguments state that use of those chemical compounds on students helps to prevent neuropeptide from deteriorating and help to perform better in school task who previously have concentration and memory problem. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little support for the author’s statement in various critical aspects and raises skeptical questions. For example, what has a rate of PEP enzymes occurred in younger student and older people? How did Test make on rats? What is the reliability that one test successes on rat will be definitely success in human? Who will be responsible if those chemicals do not work properly in the student with occurring negative side effect? Without the convincing answer to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the author’s argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear and more concrete information about the theoretical reliability of that compound and test. The anatomical similarity of rats and humans will also help to strengthen the argument. The argument should also guarantee the test is not insidious to the students.