A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The pet food company has concluded that since they have only used the chemicals which have been approved, their pet food products can't be responsible for the symptoms observed in pets. By reaching such a conclusion, the author of the argument has overlooked many assumptions and holes, which are present, and thus has made made highly flawed case for the pet food company.

To begin with, let me stating the maxim that 'anything consumed in excess is harmful'. While the pet food company has concluded that it has only used the approved chemicals, it hasn't specified the amount in which each of the chemicals were used. If the chemicals were used in large quantities, much more than the permissible amount then the company is to be blamed for this act. Furthermore, the company has failed to provide us with information on whether it has assured that the chemicals used didn't react with each other, or other sources of food, and then triggered vomiting, lethargy, and other illnesses. It may well be that the chemicals used in the food products isn't compatible with the other kinds of foods which are consumed by pets. Thus, data on the amount of certain chemicals found in the food, their permissible amounts and on whether the food is suitable to be consumed with other food sources must be provided.

Moving on, the company must specify which foods are compatible with which pets. The company has failed to state whether it has done sufficiently in regard to this matter. For example,consider a case in which the company launches dog food, which contains milk products. If the company hasn't specified the constituents of the food product on the packaging, consumers may buy those products to feed them too their lactose intolerant dogs. In such a situation, the company would face charges since, it was their job to specify which ingredients went into making those foods and a particular food product might not be suitable for which kinds of pets.

Moreover, the company must be required to check it's manufacturing process and packaging processes to ensure that it is following strict guidelines and maintaining proper hygiene. Consider the situation in which the manufacturing and packaging process isn't up to the required standards and the machines which gauge the amount of preservatives that must be added to the products are malfunctioning. In such a situation, the self life of these foods might be much less than that specified of the packaging and the foods may well have expired before they were fed to pets. By not providing any data regarding it's manufacturing process and whether all processes are functioning correctly, and stopping their investigation, the company might be making a grave error which could further lead to it's defamation.

To conclude, the argument in question is rife to holes and assumptions which make it extremely difficult to agree with. The company hasn't provided us with sufficient data to conclude that it has no role in the symptoms expressed by pets. In order to make the argument more cogent, the company should have provided us with data on the amount of chemicals present, the manufacturing and packaging process, etc.