Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production has recongnised that fewer people attended the screenings of their movies in the previous year than in any other year, even though the percentage of positive reviews of their movies has increased. The director has asserted that the quality of movies produced isn't to blame but rather their advertising efforts should be blamed, and if a greater budget is allocated for advertising they'll be able to reach the public better. While the director may have made some agreeable points, his argument is rife with assumptions and holes which makes it difficult to agree with.

To begin with, the author has conveniently assumed that if more money is spent on advertising, more people would start watching it. But what if people still get to know about the movies but choose not to watch them since they don't meet their expectations? The director could have provided us with the data on the recent changes made in the generes of their movies which could have caused the viewers to abandon them. For example, if the primary audience of their movies were middle aged married couples, and the company spent more on producing teenage flicks the privious years, their primary audience would have preferred to abandon them, while new viewership may not have yet been attracted to them.

Moreover, the author has stated that the percentage of positive reviews has increased but hasn't provided any information about the absolute number of positive and negative reviews. What if over the years, the people who complained about the quality of movies have suddenly stopped complaining because they see the production house as a forlorn cause which can't improve despite repeated complaints? This may be reflected in data if the total number of reviews of the movie has drastically decreased, due to the fact that people prefer to just not watch them anymore. Thus, more details on the number of reviews and whether the old customers who voiced their complaints still watch the movies or have started giving positive reviews may be needed to evaluate the argument further.

Furthermore, the director has concluded without due deliberation that the problem that the company is facing could be solved by increasing the advertisement expenditure. But, by doing so without proper proof of the cause of the resentment from the public might be a wastage of money. The current outreach of the advertisements and a detailed analysis of wehther the advertising division is managing it's funds efficiently should have been described if the director wished to show a dearth in their efforts. In addition to this, a market survey should be carried out in order to understand exactly why the people are not watching the movies of the production house.

To conclude, the director hasn't made a cogent case for th arguments since he hasn't addressed many pressing issues or provided any relevant data on the matter. The director has failed to consider other alternatives like the low satisfaction of customers, or a recent change in genre which may have caused the customers to abandon the movies of the company. The director should have provided more detail on the total number of reviews, on the current reach of the company's advertising or a market survey showing that the customers aren't dissatisfied, had he wanted to strengthen his case. But without all this analysis, the argument is difficult to agree with.