The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The issue in question presents is with a contentious view that instilling in the young a sense of coorporation and not competition is the 'best' way to prepare them for leadership positions, whther in the government or the industries. The issue presents a matter that is very relevant to today's world in which competent leaders are needed to take the world in the right direction, but the extreme view of the author of the issue in stating that only coorporation is the best quality makes this issue difficult to agree with and so this issue must be deeply analysed.

To begin with, coorporation indeed instills in people a sense of team work, the ability to work with other people. In the real world nobody can work in isolation and people often have to collaborate together, whether in order to carry out research, implement a public policy, organise an event or lead a multinational company. Thus, the ability to coorporate with other people in order to achieve a common goal is extremely necessary for a professional career. On the other hand it may be argued that if people are too competitive, it may give them a self serving attitude, due to which they put their needs before the needs of their nation, their organisation, or their cause. Certainly, such a selfish attitude does not, in any way, guarentee the success or the betterment of the society. In such a scenario, coorporation does seem to have an upper hand over competition.

While I do concede to the above points, it is imperative to expatiate on the counter arguments. Firstly, competition pushes people to do better and enhances their capabilities. It is often asserted in economics and business how the competition between firms forces them to make better products at lower costs, making them more efficient. In such a scenario people properly husband their resources, plan out exactly what action must be taken and make an efficient team, which ultimately benefits the society in terms of low cost and efficient products. Secondly, competition can't be avoided in the real world. Different firms often compete in the market, for a greater market share, for tenders and profits, and so do employees in the same firm or organisation, for promotions and accolades. Just as animals compete with each other for territory, hegemony, or mates, similarly, it is human nature to compete with each other. Thus, competition is unavoidable and a healthy competition among organisations, or individuals pushes them to achieve more which in turn benefits their organisations and society.

Moreover, the author of the issue fails to consider that competition also entails coorporation, since both the concenpts are mutually exclusive of one another. Often, when people work in team in firms and organisations, they have to coorporate with each other in order to achieve their target. Thus, values of teamwork, and the ability to listen to other peoples opinions have to be developed when the competition is within teams. For example, often in schools, children are dividing into different houses and made to compete with one another in games, sports, wall paintings, etc., in order to instill a sense of coorporation in them.

In conclusion, while it can be argued that coorporation is a noble quality which must be instilled in people, might have some positive points, to say that coorporation trumps competition when in comes to producing leaders can't be agreed with. Often, competition can't be avioded and is necessary in order to make people or companies more efficient. Moreover, the values of coorporation can also be instilled through competition.