Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The issue at hand brings together two of the very important topics relevant in today's era: shortening of our attention spans and the ability to filter out the nuisance and focus on what's important. It has been suggested in the passage that the ability of humans to sort through large quantities of information and find what's important has been enhanced by the media and the internet which has caused our attention spans to shorten. While, this may have some credibility to it, we have been provided with no proof or justification for this. The issue can't be regarded as entirely right or wrong and has both positive and negative aspects to it which deserve analysis.

To begin with, the author of the issue believes that our shorter attention spans have an 'overall positive effect' on us. But, by stating so, the author has conveniently overlooked many of the deleterious effects of this phenomenon. Tasks like studying algebra, learning music, creative writing, are just a few examples of tasks which require the utmost concentration. But, due to the shortened attention spans, people constantly face the urge to fiddle with their phones, check for new notifications on social networks, or scroll through an endless pit of information on many websites. Internet hasn't just made people restless, but has got many people addicted to it. Many times, people fail to notice the world around them because they are so busy updating their status on social media or observing the latest fad on the internet. Often, shortened attention spans can prove to be disastrous in many professions, such as those of engineers, architects, doctors, etc, whose one mistake could cause a faulty design in a bridge, a life threatening situation during surgery or an incorrect diagnosis. To say that the overall effect of mass media and internet is positive, despite these harmful aspects can be seriously flawed.

Moreover, if we take a closer look at the second part of the issue which discusses the enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information to obtain what's important we are faced with a serious dilemma. Who gets to decide what's important? Many, people might consider reading about pet animals, about hiking, watching sports videos to be important while others might consider those tasks to be a sheer waste of time. Often, employees are chided by their employers for watching cat videos or scrolling through an endless supply of comic books, when they should have been working. Can such aspects be considered positive at all times? Hardly not.

What the world needs to recognize is a more balanced approach towards evaluating mass media and internet. While, such new age technology may have deleterious effects on our attention spans, they have brought the world closer together by transmitting information worldwide to everyone, by enabling easy access to information and and facilitating individual communication between people on opposite ends of the world. There are many such positive aspects to it. But, the rise of mass media and internet shouldn't be at the cost of shortening attention spans, which may lead to grave errors and lesser productivity in professions. The negative aspects can be avoided by practicing self restraint and concentrated working conditions.

To conclude, the internet and mass media have transformed our world. But to say that the resultant shortening of attention spans, mostly plays a positive role, is highly mistaken and this makes the issue at hand difficult to agree with.