Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Choice of one's dream and goals are not a trivial one. The given prompt claims that young people must be motivated to pursue "worthy" goals instead of dreams. The reasoning provided is based on the premise that many people's dreams are inherently selfish. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the claim and argue that it is more imperative to pursue propitious goals instead of mere dreams.

First, there are many shortcomings in picking and pursuing banal dreams. Moreover, it is rather suggested that young people must follow goals that are propitious, with respect to their future career and betterment of the society as a whole. For instance, choosing a college major withstanding it's future scope, job prospects and growth of the particular field would invigorate the chances of success dramatically. Also, the student's personal interest also matter in this regard. Thus, we must pursue goals which are propitious.

Furthermore, research has consistently demonstrated that many people's dreams are inherently selfish. It is human-nature. Ever since the inception of archaic civilizations, history has been evidence to such hedonistic pursuits due to selfishness. For instance, the great truculent world wars are a result of mere selfish of bragging rights over land and extending one's territory. This illustrates how dangerous it is to follow such dreams, given the natural proclivity towards them inherently. Terrorism and drug mafias have proven the same. Therefore, any such pursuits must be decimated and dettered.

Finally, it is the responsibility of elders, alongside society, to lead young people on the right track in life. They must be afforded the liberity to pursue their dreams, but it must be checked when it takes an untoward course. We are all aware of the fact that young minds are mallaeable and liberal, the society must refrain from adultering their minds. Consider a teenager indulging in drugs and crimes, they must be made to understand the adversities it might lead to. They must be moulded so they can discern the differece between whats right and wrong, no just for themselves but for society in general. Thus, elders in the society must realize their responsibility and help young people.

Of course, some might argue that not all people are inherently selfish. I do agree that such generalization is too extreme and unfair. Moreover, worthiness of goal is highly subjective matter. Nevertheless, it is also recommended to follow "worthy" goals which have proven to be more propitious.