The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

The following argument is flawed for several reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that high school students should engage in community service to understand the importance of giving back to their community, rendering the conclusion that Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students to complete 40 hours of community service before graduation invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that these high school students do not already attribute so much value to their communities. Had the argument provided information regarding what the students do with their spare time, even then, it would have to show that those activities have no impact on the communities.

Also, the argument leaves so many unanswered questions. Even if the students are to complete a community service project, it shouldn't be capped at 40 hours. Since the focus of the argument is to drive social values and as well supply resources to charitable organisations, it could take less than 40 hours for on student to imbibe this culture and perhaps for one other student, 40 hours will look insufficient.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to prove the fact that students of Pleasantville School should complete 40 hours of community service.