Some people it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle given the evidence of global climatic change.

Energy can be tagged as one of man's most important resource. It provides the necessary heat required for survival, aids in plant photosynthesis which in turn provides food for man, and is converted into various forms including sound, light, mechanical etc for application in countless measures. Energy as proven by scientists cannot be created nor destroyed but can be converted from one form to another. It is also proven that 10% of energy from the sun alone have not been exhautively harnessed till date let alone the energy from oceans and the wind. Hence, to purport that energy consumption should be minimized is to maintain an overly myopic view. Instead, latent energy from various other dormant sources including radioactive elements, wind, water bodies etc should be vigorously exploited to meet man's demand regardless of the change occurring in the climate.

From the stone age to the information age, demand for energy hasn't declined nor has the climate remained static. Yet, man has always prevailed over nature in scheming a ploy for energy availabilty. Prior to when Michael Faraday discovered the electric bulb, there were lanterns in use fueled by refined hydrocarbons in from of Dual Purpose Kero (DPK). These inventions were developed in response to increasing demand for energy and the need to display tact to climate. Had scientists resorted to energy consumption minimzation, the vision of such inventions would have become irresolute.

In Nigeria, for example, although a developing nation, energy consumption demand is projected to exceed 130Mtoe by 2030. Current energy supply is a far cry to this supply. The bulk of this supply derived from hydrocarbons - oil and natural gas and as well hydro energy hads been insufficient. Nigeria has had it's share of climatic change ranging from desertification of the northern region to drying of the Lake Chad and regional floodings. In response to climatic change and energy demand, Nigeria is developing other sources of energy vigourously. While it may be logical to consider energy consumption reduction, it is indeed not the best reponse to climatic change.

Therefore, energy consumption does not necessarily have to be minimised as a way to respond to climatic change because wind energy, radioactive energy, solar energy, hydro energy hasn't yet been maximised. Those who argue for energy use reduction hold a myopic view because they ignore the possibilty of innovation as a startegy to solve the energy deficit challenge.