Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Careers can be a source for one's income or a medium to reach out out to the society as one may have chosen. Different carers represent different purpose and hence could be in sports, academics, business, ministry, health and so on. To purport that academic institutions should encourage their students to pursue lucrative careers is to provide a myopic view to life because what one considers lucrative today may not be economically viable tomorrow.

Before we look at the broader picture, let's even define the word "lucrative" as it applies to life. A lucrative career means different things to different people; some will state that it means any chosen field that yields the highest amount of income while others will argue that a lucrative career is proportional to the satisfaction and sense of fulfillment one derives from it. Regardless of the perception anyone maintains, we can state that it is not the job of an educational institution to define career viability for her students. For example, content writing, digital marketing, social media administration, data science, machine learning, artificial intelligence, etc. were never considered a career path let alone a viable one in the past two decades but today have risen to grow in demand experts in this field smile to the bank monthly.

Social media administration is currently not a course os study in the high school. This could be because no one ever had a premonition of it's emergence. If existing institutions were allowed to influence choice of fields of study, it is patent they won't allow their students take a risk on what is considered unknown. Yet, that ignominious career is one of the best fields with lucrative salaries today.

If we take a further look on artificial intelligence where machines are trained to take decision as much as humans do, it may not have been considered viable compared to the conventional medicine and surgery, engineering and law. Yet, Facebook as a company remains the leading social media company because it combines artificial intelligence to offer best form of experience to her millions of users.

Again, teachers bias due to the kind of careers that have been exposed from birth till date may be the factor for career choices on the student's behalf.

Regardless of the fact that early career path discovery can of inestimable value and educational institutions can play an important role in this, it will be deceitful for schools to engender this as the individual bias of the teacher and the changing trends of the society will not allow for tact choices as the case may be.