The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Political discussions are intrinsically catholic issues which attracts the attention of anyone and indeed everyone. From the stone age to the digital age, every society has some form of leadership system that her citizens will find pertinent as matters of discourse. Political occurrences are usually not secretive nor tagged as confidential. This explains why anyone can publish political opinions whether online or offline. Hence, to purport that blogs and social media waters down the quality of it's discourse is to maintain an overly myopic view.

Prior to blogs and social media, fake news have never been a strange occurrence. Anyone can disseminate any kind of information which does not necessarily have to be done online. Can we then attribute the consequence of such misleading information to the social media or blogs alone and exonerate the person who couldn't verify ordinary information? Even the computers we use today must process all data into information before it displays it to the output unit. Hence, man should be able to verify all opinions as well before indulging in discussions.

So, it is important to state that opinions are not necessarily facts nor truths on their own. Do we have to talk about standards from a general view or should standards be a bit more personal? If someone's standard decline, it is because the person has a loose grip on being fastidious to deep dive into occurrences and find what quality news really looks like. In fact, the problem of poor quality is not with the blogs, but the individuals who carry the news. These individuals can be found anywhere. In other words, if someone who personal life standards are low, joins a conventional newspaper publishing company, one is still likely to prone to spreading unverified news.

In Nigeria, for example, there are traditional news media firms including Daily Sun, Daily Trust, The Punch, etc. These media run parallel with the online ones including Legit.ng, nairaland.com, sabinews.com etc. These two contemporary bodies now serve as check for each other such that if one carries fake news, the other begins to gain more audience and vice versa. Also, the standards for covering news have not changed either because no agency will want to lose the battle at any point so they can always win the war.

Therefore, the emergence of online media is not the cause of weakened quality of political discourse because it is actually humans that indulge in the discussions and not robots. Again, online media has rather served as a check for quality news becuase the competition between it and the conventional news media results into faster, better and quality information spread.