Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Madagascan shrimp is expected to become an endangered species due to the arrival and incursions of deep-sea fishermen. This argument fails to convince readers why Madagascan shrimp would become the next endangered species based on its unwarranted assumptions.

The argument states that the Madagascan shrimp had a significant reduction in population. However, it does not define how much of a significant reduction there was. If there were 5 million Madagascan shrimps originally, but there are now only 4.5 million left, a half-million reduction does not seem very significant. However, if there were a total of 1 million shrimps before, but now a half-million left, the reduction seems much more significant. The usage of statistics would be greatly useful in gauging what a significant reduction in shrimp actually is. Without it, the audience cannot assume that the significant reduction is of significance.

The number of shrimp to repopulate is assumed to not grow back to the level it once was because fishermen would soon diminish the amount again. This sentence is also not proven as it makes two assumptions -- the breeding season is not enough to repopulate the Madagascan shrimp and the deep-sea fishermen are searching for these Madagascan shrimp. The first assumption from this sentience does not provide the reader with any reason why the population of shrimp would not grow back. If the breeding season only allows shrimp to reproduce only half of their current population, then it would be more reasonable to state that their levels would not be the same as fishermen arrive. However, if the breeding season usually allows these shrimp to repopulate fully, then it is not as conclusive that their levels would not be the same before the fishermen arrive. Without the inclusion of the statistics of the Madagascan shrimp breeding season, it would be difficult to prove that levels of shrimp would not grow back in time before the fishermen were to arrive.

The second assumption is that the goal of these deep-sea fishermen is to obtain Madagascan shrimp. Firstly, within the argument, there is no saying of what these deep-sea fishermen even there for. Assuming that these deep-sea fishermen are here to capture aquatic life, it is still not plausible to assume they are there to capture Madagascan shrimp. As deep-sea fishermen, their main goal would probably not just be specifically on the shrimp. They may also be looking at crabs, lobsters, octopus, and many other deep-sea creatures. These fishermen to arrive may not even be looking to capture Madagascan shrimp. Defining what kind of deep-sea fishermen they are and elaborating on the process of the Madagascan shrimp breeding season would be more of an arguable case. Then, the reader is able to know if these fishermen are aiming to capture these shrimp and if these shrimp are usually only able to reproduce about half of its population within one season.

As many unwarranted assumptions are made, there is no reason why this argument is credible in its information.