Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt is evaluating the safety of this species of shrimps, the Madagascan shrimp. This gives a plausible explanation for the observed decline in the species population as the excess activities of fishermen. However, more evidence has to be provided to support this claim. This response discusses some of the evidence that must be provided before accepting that Madagascan shrimps are soon going to be extinct because of excessive fishing activities.

First, there should be a result of a detailed empirical study that demonstrates the observed steady decline in the population of these shrimps; the result should date back to 50 years prior. This evidence would evaluate the claim of their impending extinction. The result would be juxtaposed against established extinction trends of similar extinct species. The inability to establish a clear correlation between both trends invalidates the claim of their imminent extinction. In addition, the current population level of the shrimps would be determined and compared to the previous level obtained after the last breeding season to ascertain that there is a constant decline post-breeding seasons.

Secondly, there should be evidence of the amount of shrimps harvested annually by fishermen, this would be compared with the current population levels to determine the percentage of shrimps that are harvested yearly and the impact on the population level. if the proportions greater than a universally defined percentage (perhaps 80%), it can be concluded fishing is deleterious consequences on the population of shrimps. This strengthens the argument to an extent.

There should also be evidence that shows that there is no other factor responsible for the decline in the shrimp population. Other factors may include, climate change, ocean pollution, activities of predators and migration of the species. The inability to rule out these factors invalidates the assumption that only fishing activity is responsible for the decline in population. And ultimately renders the argument illogical and gratuitous.

In conclusion, while the argument seeks to establish a direct correlation between fishing activities and extinction of the Madagascan Shrimp, there are evidences that must be provided. These evidences should prove that fishing is the only factor responsible for the decline in the shrimp population; that the percentage of shrimps harvested manually is sufficient to predict the extinction of the species; that the trend from previous years predicts a possibility of extinction of the species. Inability to prove these weakens the argument and renders the argument and conlusion unacceptable.