Recent incursions by deep sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population With the breeding season fast approaching the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase Nonetheless the po

At first glance, it may seem logical to agree with the author's argument that the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species due to deep-sea fishing in their habitat. The evidence presented is the population has been reduced significantly by recent incursions by the fisherman and breeding season will not repopulate the population back to levels seen before the boats arrived. There are many flaws with this argument; therefore, I will discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would strengthen or weaken the argument.

Firstly, the prompt suggests that the recent incursions have led to a significant reduction of these shrimp within their habitat. Although this may hold merit, more specific evidence such as a percentage of shrimp lost is needed to strengthen the argument. If the author gave us what percent of the population remained after the incursions, we could then determine how much the shrimp needs to reproduce during breeding season to return the levels back to normal.

Secondly, the passage doesn't tell us how much the population will increase during breeding season. We don't know whether the shrimp reproduce by the masses or not. Specific evidence of how well shrimp can repopulate their habitat would strengthen the argument. We cannot say with confidence that the population will not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived without that information.

Thirdly, more specific evidence is needed strengthen the argument that if this trend continues over the next several years, it will quickly lead to the endangerment of the shrimp. Without this information, we cannot determine the speed in which we will see the population diminish. For all we know, the shrimp may not become endangered within the next few centuries or if it will become endangered at all.

In summary, the argument contains many holes and needs more specific proof to strengthen the argument. If the author can provide more specific examples as to how much the shrimp reduces after each incursion, how much the population will increase during breeding season, and provide a specific time frame in which the population will become endangered will make the argument incredibly strong.