Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

“A benefit to the majority is a benefit to all”, that is a popular saying in Nigeria which indicates the significant of the majority. This can be related to this prompt which seeks to determine that researchers should focus their research on research with the greatest impact interms of population. I am in support of this recommendation mainly because the purpose of science is to improve lives of individuals, the best way this well achieved is to focus on the problems with the greatest impact. Other reasons would be explored in the course of this response.

Firstly, as stated earlier, the main goal of scientific research , in all fields, is to improve the global living conditions in ways that are applicable to that field of research. The ultimate benefit is to develop a global society where all individuals function to their optimum capcity with minimal losses. Focusing on research gaps with affects the greatest numbe of people is the best way to achieve these. For example, the global warming is a phenomenon that is gradually growing to affect a significant proportion of the earth population. As such numerous research are focused on reducing human activities that causes it, such as emission of harmful pollutants, and so on. Success in this area is a greater achievement to science because it improves global lives of people.

In addition, with a greater research focus it is easier to track changes and monitor research results. Of instance, during clinical trials of developed drugs, compounds with activities on common medical illness such as diabetes yield faster and more accurate result because majority of peoples have these illnesses therefore it is easier to obtain results and make adjustments or recommendations where necessary. In addition, research areas with the greatest population impacts are more likely to get research funding because of their significant effects of the lives of humans. Example is with research funding for cancer therapy.

However, it is important to also consider certain research that would be most beneficial to a subset of poplualtion that also pose potential benefitas to the lives of people. Congentital and gentic illnesses quickly comes to mind. Babies are a smaller subset of global population but research to eradicate genetic illnesses like sickle cell disease, congenital heart disease, type 1 diabetes. This would also improve the lives of these populations. Thus, achieving the overall aim of science.

In conclusion, it is important for science to focus on a research that has impact on greater number of peo-ple because it would serve to imptove the lives of such people and the society; and it would be easier to see reaults and trace errors. However, it may also be important to consider research that would impact a smaller subset of individuals.