Some people believe that it is helpful to view a challenging situation as an opportunity for personal growth. Others believe that reimagining challenging situations this way occupies too much of the focus one needs to face challenges effectively.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

The is a notable sayin “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”. This is applicable to challenging situations because they provide opportunities for personal development in areas that were not previously thought possible. But as the second view states sometimes considering challenges this way put too much mental consideration on the outcome and not the process. As such, the second view most closely aligns with my position and I would but explaining my reasoning in this response.

Firstly, let’s consider the Graduate Record Exam (GRE). Writing the exam provides an opportunity to think at a capacity that is not usually required in everyday life. This results in the development of a new reasoning ability, an example of personal growth. A graduate of Pharmacy who has not been exposed to the quantitative reasoning in during his undergraduate study is challenged by the level of arithmetic reasoning and accuracy required pass the exam. But with continuous efforts he gets a grasp of what is required and is also able to apply in his personal life. This challenginf situation provides the stage for a development in an foreign aspect.

Similarlt, studies have shown that taking on challenges outside ones comfort zone develops and strengthens neural synaptic pathways in the brain. The ability to do things that were previously considered impossible is the result of this neurological improvement. For instance, a reticent scientist who is mandated to regularly present his scientific findings at a research conference may initially be challenged by the thought of doing so. However, continuously doing so builds that public speaking capacity and courage he did not have before. This signifies personal growth of that scientist.

However, productive and beneficial challenging situations may seems, there is the risky of placing too much emphasis on the predicited beneficial outcomes. An individual who is determined to build his physical physique initially welcomes the challenges of the rigours of the gym because he is focuse on the end results. BUT The excessive focus on the promised outcome causes him to loose hope when he does not see results immediately. This is was is implies by the second view. The consistent dependence on the outcome defeats the entire purpose focusing on the process to achieve personal development.

In conclusion, challenging situation are beneficial as they help to strengthen previously unused neurological pathways. However, they is the still the risk of excessive dependent on the outcome rather that the process.