A recent sales study indicated that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent over the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants that specialize in seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about eating healthily. Therefore, a new Bay City restaurant specializing in seafood will be quite popular and profitable.

The context says that the consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased and hence a new Bay City restaurant specializing in seafood will be quite popular and profitable.It is completely assuming that as the consumption increased , opening a new restaurant specializing in seafood will be profitable.The statement ignores the facts such as probability of new competetors,changes in peoples interest.

Firstly, the fact is supported by the scenario that there are currently no other restaurants specialized in sea food. For example if there is a new competitor coming and they also serves high quality and good sea food cuisines then there are chances that people going to that restaurant as well. Only based on the fact that the sea food consumption increased we cannot confirm that opening the new restaurant will be profitable. The quality of food and chances of other healthier options which people will consider in the future also has to be taken into account.

Secondly it is said that people are opting for healthier options nowadays which need not be always the option of sea food.Also there could be changes in financial conditions in the future which is completely ignored. Eating less home cooked food doesn’t ensure that people will always go for sea food and assume that the business will be popular and profitable.

Finally it cannot be confirmed that opening a new restaurant will be popular and profitable without any studies involving risks in the future and the challenges .The increase consumption of seafood alone cannot be used as a supporting fact for the profit of the restaurant. Instead a detailed study on peoples interest and quality of food served, challenges from competitors has to be done. Hence we cannot agree with conclusion that a new restaurant will ensure a popular and profitable business.