Some people think children are more successful in foreign language studies than adults. Discuss.

With the advancement in technology, support in learning another language, including foreign, is readily available for everybody. However, it is often observed that children are faster in picking up new language compared to adults.

To begin with the first point, youngsters mostly focus their time and energy in studying or sports and adults need to work to make their ends meet. As it can be seen in weekend or evening classes, most adults drop out of the curriculum or perform poorly as they are completely exhausted by their work that they do not have any strength to study.

Another factor that needs to be considered is that children are more open to new ideas than compared to adults. The youngsters are not only more eager to learn but also are very curious. This is not in the case of adults. It has been seen that with age, adults are slow learners because they tend to succumb to peer pressure or have lost the ability to ask questions and acceptance.

Also, adults have known at least minimum one language and therefore, know the basic rules of the language. They can relate better and learn the intricacies quickly. Kids, however, have not mastered even one language and learning simultaneously multiple language can make it confusing specially if they languages are similar.

In conclusion, it is easier to learn language when mindset is flexible to new things, including languages. However, there has been instances where adults have mastered not only one but many foreign languages with their hard work and interest. At the end of the day, all that matters is the interest to learn.