All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary

The statement is quite comprehensive as it suggests the companies to listen to the ideas of their employees rather than hiring outside consultancies for the better functioning. There could be several factors upon which one can conclude that this is beneficial for the company's growth. Though I agree with the statement, I would suggest that the statement is a bit too extreme as it states that the outside consultancies are unnecessary.

Firstly, let us understand when does a company require outside consultancy. Any company who has just begun its progress and are not equipped with reliable and experienced employees or if a company is going through a bad phase, it would be tempting to go for outside consultancies. This, however, may not be the wisest of the options as outside consultancies would sense the company's desperation and may utilize it to their benefit. This, in turn, would result in a disastrous phase for the company.

The key to building a strong bond between the employees and the managers or the CEO, it is vital to trust the employees and motivate them to work harder by increasing their pay. This way, the employees will become more loyal and share a great camaraderie with the senior managers. No outsider can suggest ways for a company to work efficiently better than its employees.

It all boils down to how the leader of the company deals with the downfall of the company and how he/she coalesces the employees into working for a better future. Employee's loyalty and diligence is a measure of the leader's capabilities. Sadly, most of the leaders in the current world consider themselves to be the boss who gives directions to the employees and treat them as lackey rather than leading from the front and be an exemplifier for his follower.

A shrewd Leader would sit down with the employees of the company and discuss a way out of the problem. Outside consultancy's goal is not to benefit the company but rather to make their living by providing the few suggestions to the companies which may or may not be pragmatic. Instead, loyal and sagacious employees would focus on the problems the company is facing with the highest priority and dedication.

In a nutshell, I would strongly support the statement as outside consultancies can do more harm than good, whereas, It's own employees have a better insight of the problem and can come up with a more pragmatic and efficient solution. Hence, a company should spend more time discussing with the employees.