Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

The statement is very blatant in its meaning. It disregards any benefits that a current leader could acquire by understanding the past. I strongly disagree with the statement as it undermines a very vital part of leadership. Understanding the past of the company or the management of an institution is of prime importance in enabling the current leader to function efficiently. The following passages will further reinforce my position on the issue.

Leadership is all about understanding the capabilities of the team members and finding a way to utilize their potential. A leader who fails to do so is not regarded as one of the best. It's upon the leader to successfully coalesce the team members and work efficiently. How does a leader coalesce or bring about the unity amongst the team members? How will a leader understand the strengths and weaknesses of the team members? A detailed understanding of the past of the company or the institution is the foundation on which a leader grows. Suppose, a team has got a new leader who is not interested in learning about the past of how the team used to work would eventually force the members to work in the fields not aligned to their strengths. This will further exacerbate the situation as the team members will bemoan about the injustice and an air of dissatisfaction will prevail. Few of the members might leave the job or the role they were asked to play because of the disinterested leader.

A leader without a prior understanding of the firm or institution will not be able to bring about positive energy amongst the members. No matter how productive or efficient a leader may be, he or she has to have a deeper level of understanding of hor the things work in that particular firm. Every organization has a different method of working and it would be absolutely absurd if a leader tries to force his method of working in every organization he has worked with.

In order to have a great camaraderie amongst the members of the organization, one has to be well aware of the needs and requirements of its employees. Every employee would require a different approach in talking and addressing it can only be taken care of if the leader has an extensive understanding of every bit of the organization. A detailed look at the profile and personal interaction with each of its team members is one of the main pillars upon which a leader stands. The overall functioning of the firm requires prior knowledge of the past records as well.

In a nutshell, understanding the past is absolutely vital for a leader to work efficiently and productively and to bring about positive energy in the atmosphere of the organization.