Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

There are different views regarding the responsibility of corporations. Some believe that the corporations are responsible for promoting the well-being of the societies and the environments in which they work. While, others believe that the corporations should focus on making more and more money, provided they operate within the law.

However, I personally believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the society and the environment in which they are working and earning money.

It is solely the duty of the corporations to take care of the people and the profit should not be made at the expense of the life of people living in that area in which they are operating. For example, releasing poisonous and untreated water from the industries into the river can cause serious damage to the water life as well as land life. In the water fishes and several water creatures die because of the dirty and harmful water. Whereas on the land, if this river water is used for irrigation it can make the land infertile because of the chemicals present in the water. Indirectly humans suffer from various diseases when they eat crops produced in that land. Also it affects the corporation because the people who are working in that industry are becoming ill and consequently the work environment is disturbed.

Responsibility towards the people and environment can in turn benefit the organisation indirectly. Suppose the organisation is organising monthly health check up for free for the employees and also providing medical insurance tool people working. This will prevent the organisation in spending more money if they get hurt accidentally and this will also make employees happy as they will not have to worry for the money in treatment. In turn making the employer and employees relationship stronger.

Also taking care of the environment is still challenging for the corporations. Some corporations ignore some safety measures for making more money and this results in paying a lot more money. For example, recently after the massive oil spill in the gulf, one of the corporation had to pay huge amounts of fine for spilling the oil into the water and also had to pay for cleaning the Water in the gulf. This resulted in spending four times more money than that could have been used in taking care of the equipments that resulted into massive spill.

Making money for the corporations is important but at the same time the corporation should think about the long term of making money. Considering all the facts regarding the well-being of the people and environment can bring the corporation a huge success than ever imagined.