"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Animals help us understand many things about humans, including biology, physiology and behavior. Rhesus monkeys are a close relative of humans and many scientists have used them in experiments. Based on the findings of some studies, the author’s statement that birth order has an effect on an individual’s levels of stimulation is flawed due to assumptions that need further validation.

The study found that first born rhesus monkeys produced twice as much cortisol, a stress hormone, than their younger siblings. Therefore, the author claims that birth order has an effect on the monkey’s level of stimulation. While it seems to be a valid conclusion, the author failed to provide more information on the age of these monkeys and how the study was conducted. If the first born monkeys and their siblings are presented the stimulation at the same time, and the first born monkeys produced more cortisol, it is likely because the first born monkeys are more mature and are sensitive to stimulation, while their younger siblings are too young and immature to sense danger. If the study is carried out in a way that they waited for the younger siblings to be the same age as the first born monkey and then measure their stress level, the conclusion will be more valid, although the experiment will take a longer time.

Then the author discussed that first born humans are reported to have higher cortisol levels to stimulation based, so that the birth order can affect human babies. Note here the stimulation, returning of an absent parent, is very different from the first scenario - encountering an unfamiliar individual. Although both scenarios are stimulation, they are inherently different in nature. Returning of an absent parent is something a baby would like to see, as opposed to interacting with someone unfamiliar. It is possible that first born human babies react very differently to other stimulations and produce less cortisol compared to their younger siblings.

The author’s conclusion is also based on the fact that first-time mothers have higher cortisol levels than mothers who have already had children. This evidence does not support the author’s claim because first-time mothers don’t have to be their parent’s first born. The mother can be the youngest sibling in her family, and having her first baby. The fact that they are experiencing more stress is most likely because they have never had a baby before and it is a new experience for them - they will be more nervous as they have no idea what to expect, and thus producing more stress hormones. HOwever, this doesn’t provide any relations on whether the mothers are themselves first born babies and whether being the first borns have any effect on the stimulation (having a baby).

The author’s claim that birth order has an effect on individual’s level of stimulation is based on inadequate evidence, glossing over the age difference, types of stimulation, and effects between parents and children. Therefore, the claim remains invalid if there’s no further research and validation.