Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Although it is true that the so-called Palean baskets were found in different prehistoric villages, the author’s conclusion that the Palean baskets were not unique is based on several assumptions that may not hold true and lack further evidence. There are several hidden factors the author failed to consider, thus making the conclusion invalid.

The author claimed that the Paleans didn’t cross the river because there’s no Palean boats have been found. However, no evidence of the boat doesn’t mean those boats didn’t exist. Today’s technology does enable scientists to uncover many ancient artifacts, but many still remain underground. It’s very likely that scientists will discover Paleans boats or other vehicles that the Palean people used in the future. If the author provided more evidence in the findings of the scientists, such as all surrounding area have been searched and no evidence of any boats were found, it might strengthen the argument more.

The author’s other assumption to reach his or her conclusion is that the Brim river has always been there between the two villages, and remained big and wide throughout history. This argument needs more validation as bodies of water change its course very frequently over time. Rivers can get bigger when it’s the rainy season, but can disappear during the hot summer months. The author didn’t provide any further information on how the Brim River behaved during that time of the prehistoric villages. Was it that big and wide back then? If it’s just a small river, people could have swum or walked across to the other village.

Last, it is a logical assumption that the baskets were carried or transported to the village across the Brim River. However, what if the baskets were not brought to the other village on purpose? It is entirely possible that someone from the Palean village lost a basket near the river, and the basket got carried away by the river to the other side. It seems coincidental, but cannot be ruled out as a possibility. So the basket found on the side of Lithos may have gotten there accidentally. The author can strengthen the conclusion by providing more information such as multiple palean baskets were found in that village, making it more likely that the Lithos people made those baskets or the Palean people had brought those baskets over.

It’s very likely that the “Palean” baskets are not unique because they have been found in different villages. But this conclusion needs to be revalued as the author’s arguments are based on several weak assumptions, and further evidence needs to be considered to determine whether the baskets are unique to Palea or common across villages