Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The anthropologist Dr. Karp claims that Dr.Field’s observation centered approach in determining child-rearing in Tertia is invalid and his approach of interview-centered approach provides a more accurate understanding. Although his claim seems plausible, it is based on assumptions that are either flawed or needs further validation. Unless Dr. Karp conduct further studies to back his assumptions, his claim remains invalid.

The first assumption that Dr.Karp draws is that child-rearing remains the same throughout time. Dr. Field had concluded that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than their own biological parents. However, his published his conclusion twenty years ago. It’s not uncommon for traditions or even policies to change in a long period of time. For example, China used to enforce a one-child policy - all married couples can only have one child. Now after several decades, the government removed that policy and encourages couples to have two children. it’s entirely possible that the governor of Tertia see the positives of biologial parents raising their own children, and encouraged residents of the Tertia to spend more time with their own children rather than other people’s children. Had Dr.Karp provided more evidence on Tertia’s political atmosphere or traditions changes, this claim will have more credibility.

The other flaw of Dr. Karp’s claim is that the scope of his interview or survey is not clear. We don’t know the scale for the survey or the sample size of the participants. It’s likely that only a handful of the people provided insights to the interviewers and not the entire population. In statistics, surveys are only accurate and provide a more comprehensive view if the sample size is large enough, diverse, and the questions are unbiased. This brings to another point that although the Tertia children said they spend more time talking to their biological parents, does that mean they are not reared by the rest of the village? Is it because they like to talk to their biological parents more and also receive care from other people? The biased question mislead the researchers into thinking that the children in Tertia are only reared by their own parents. It will strengthen the argument if the survey asked whether the children spent time at all with people who are not their parents in the village.

In addition, dr.Karp’s claim that understanding of child rearing in Tertia provides insight to child rearing traditions in other island cultures is invalid. True that we can often draw parallels between similar cultures because they share a lot of traditions. However, we don’t know for sure if Tertia’s child rearing culture is unique or it’s common in island cultures. For example, there’s one culture that is known for eating human flesh, but it’s unique and nearby tribes do not practice the same. We cannot just draw conclusion that because the two cultures are similar or they are close geographically, they will share the same practice. It requires more research in other island cultures to determine whether they have the same child-rearing traditions.

Although Dr.Karp offered several points in his claim that Tertia’s children are raised by their own biological parents, different from what Dr. Field had proposed, his conclusion is based on assumptions that lack valid evidence or fell into the trap of logical fallacies. Therefore, he needs to provide further research findings to back his statements.