A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay

The argument provided for discussion states that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. This argument is based on the explanation that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay despite receiving little to no professional dental care as compared to the children living in the United States suburban area, who visit their dentists quite frequently.

Regional variations also affect bodily functions. The difference in the climate, temperatures, terrains, food items available, eating and cooking styles, medical practices etc. may affect why more children experience tooth decay in one area as compared to another. Comparing the children in Himalayan mountains of Nepal vs suburban areas of the United States may not be accurate. The study considers that regular dental care, as suggested by a dentist is the only factor that helps in preventing tooth decay, which is incorrect. It missed out on the fact that a child would have to see a dentist to prevent a tooth decay only when there are some factors contributing to tooth decay.

One of the key factors to be considered is the eating habits of a child. Tooth decay is caused due to consumption of certain types of food such as sugar on an ongoing basis. It could be a possibility that children in the suburban areas of Unites States consume sugary foods such chocolates, candies, doughnuts etc. frequently from a very young age. The mountain region of Nepal has inaccessible terrains and hence the children there might end up consuming less of artificially sweetened food items and relying more on the fruits and vegetables available locally. How the food is cooked will also make a difference to how it will affect your teeth.

Another factor to be considered is the dental hygiene practices of a child. Dental care need not include only visiting a dentist frequently, it will also include day to day habits followed by a family such as how frequently children brush their teeth, do they brush their teeth before going to bed, the kind of toothpastes they use etc., whether they floss their teeth or not and so on. In this case, it may be a possibility that the dental care practices of children living in the Himalayan region are more effective in preventing tooth decays as compared to the habits of kids living in the suburban areas of the United States.