A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Due to the reporting that people adopting a dog have healthier lives than do people who own no dog, the author advocates the assumption that adopting a dog can reduce the chance of experiencing continuing heart problems. However, some factors make this assumption dubious.

To begin with, the author relies on recent study to assume that people who own pets have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. However, the study does not mention the exactly place and number of people involved in this study. Specifically, the author might only invite ten people to finish his or her investigation while there are more than 500 people in the local area. Then, their feedback cannot represent the rest of people since they might be just a minority group.

Another dubious assumption is that a threshold problem involves the content of health. The arguer regards health as the same as lower incidence of heart disease. However, from many aspects, health and lower incidence of heart disease are totally different. First of all, lower incidence of disease did not indicate that owner have healthier lives, because heart disease was only one of diseases. Besides, maybe these owner had higher incident of other diseases, including pneumonia, lung cancer, and stomach cancer. In short, without ruling out those mentioned discrepancies, it is impossible to conclude health is equal to lower incident of heart disease.

Even if people who own dog have lower incident of heart disease, the editor’s recommendation depends on the assumption that no facts other than adopting a dog will cause reducing the chance of experiencing continuing heart problems. However, a myriad of other factors, including noise or parasites might impede the patients from reducing the chance of experiencing continuing heart problems. To be specific, patients must rest after recovering, but noise will impede patients from rest; And parasites from dog may cause other disease to patients, such as malaria. Therefore, these two factors will hinder patients from reducing the chance of experiencing continuing heart problems. Without ruling out these and other possible causes, the editor cannot justifiably conclude that only by adopting a dog can reduce the chance of experiencing continuing heart problems.

To sum up, author’s assumption that people adopting a dog will reduce the chance of experiencing continuing heart problems have to rule out some factors in order to provide a reasonable assumption. First, exactly place and number of people involved in this study. Second, Evidence that people adopting a dog have lower incidence of heart disease must be offered. Finally, the factors that will increase the chance of experiencing continuing heart problems must be considered.